June 6 Revisited

9 Jun

I was diagnosed on 6/6/12 with breast cancer and on 6/6/14 underwent a surgery to “fix” my left breast, that due to gardening/lifting patients/unknown reason had blown up to be the size of grapefruit. Compared with the lemon on my right side – this was ugly and painful. I did not take my daughters’ suggestions and use it as a shelf to rest my wineglass! As frustrated as I was to have to undergo surgery again – I wanted to be done with all this cancer stuff – but God puts little flags along our path. I remember standing in my oncology surgeon’s office and she says “Well, it’s not cancer!” And then 2 weeks later, when we had to have a MRI to look at what was going on, she said, “I can confirm it is not cancer”. Not cancer! I don’t have cancer! When does this alternating joy/fear go away? I am grateful to have a week or so in the summer to allow myself to heal and bask in the joy of no cancer.

Looking back on the past two years, I have been gifted with a very easy, loving passage through the tunnel of cancer. June 6th, our daughter The Writer, gave us great news of her current NED status. We “Do Today Well”, we zestfully embace every day and give love in action abuntantly.

Billy Grahan once said, “I try not to worry about life too much because I read the last page of the book and it turns out all right.” I like that.

4 Responses to “June 6 Revisited”

  1. Kathleen June 9, 2014 at 4:18 pm #

    Hope this time it heals properly. But hooray that you are cancer free!! Rest my dear friend and bask in this warm summer sunshine…you deserve it!

  2. Kim Rourke June 9, 2014 at 5:18 pm #

    What wonderful words from Billy Graham! The warmth of the early summer sun on your lovely deck is just the spot for your rejuvenation!

  3. Debbie Bailey June 10, 2014 at 10:20 am #

    Do we need to change 6/6 to B-day in your name? Always marvel at your gift to communicate the language of life on your blog. I read most of them aloud to Gregg to share your awesome insights. Be well, my friend. You have already done so well.

  4. Pat Powell June 16, 2014 at 12:26 am #

    My dear girl – what you have gone through in the past 2 years is so hard to realise that you have endured so much and talk about it so fluently that your heart must be aching and cannot believe that such a wonderful lady should be burdened with such happenings – what a horrible word to use = I cannot think of a suitable word – if you could shout from the “hill tops “why me” !!!!! – I would not blame you – I – your mother does for you -because it is just what I feel – for you my beautiful daughter!! My love and prayers always !

Leave a comment