“Only you, Roz!”

27 Jul

 

Friday night, my friend Great Legs and I went to a lovely restaurant, Prima Vista, in Cincinnati to celebrate her birthday. We both love this restaurant and as it was her birthday we decided to get dressed up. We thought about dresses, but I say ” Oh, oh, oh!!! I want to wear my fancy red patent pumps! so Great Legs says, “Oh, oh oh! I have these great peep toe, sparkle black, kitten heels!” It was settled – we were out on the town with our nice pants and AWESOME shoes!

We are sitting at dinner, Great Legs goes off menu and orders veal piccata because the chef always makes it for her, and we have a lovely glass of wine. Roz is very relaxed and slips her heels out of her shoes and thought she kept her toes in! Alas, the bathroom calls and so I slip on my very fancy red patent shoes. Through this very fancy restaurant, I walk as decorously as I can, but my shoes are killing me. “Gosh,” I think, “my feet must have really swelled, and I am only on my second wine.” I am in a dilemma – I love these shoes and they are killing me! I sit down and look at my feet. I have my shoes on the wrong feet!!!! I walked through this very fancy restaurant, with my shoes on the wrong feet. Did anybody notice? I switch them to the right feet – AH, so much better!

I have to confess to Great Legs what I did! She laughed and laughed and laughed – she has a great laugh. “Only you, Roz.” and laughs some more.

So the moral of the story – Roz really is a sandal, Dansko nurse’s shoes and flats kind of girl, but once in a while she tries to “fancy-up”, and I have FUN!

7 Responses to ““Only you, Roz!””

  1. Kim Rourke July 27, 2014 at 7:23 pm #

    Even Cinderella had shoe challenges! You rocked them, I have no doubt.

  2. Sue Brelsford July 27, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

    Reminds me of my one black one blue heels story. Won’t bore you with details but in the light I didn’t feel nearly as “dressed up”. The Neighbor

  3. Marsha Vonderwish July 28, 2014 at 10:21 am #

    That makes me feel so much better about the goofy things I do! Of course you can always use the excuse of ‘chemo brain’! Hugs!

  4. Rita O'Brien July 28, 2014 at 11:14 am #

    Oh Roz I love this story and it is so something I would do. It’s great that we can laugh at ourselves. Miss you.

  5. Debbie Bailey July 29, 2014 at 10:06 am #

    Moral of the story: nothing looks as good as comfortable feels

  6. chover@fuse.net August 2, 2014 at 5:41 pm #

    Hi Roz, I just got back in town and read your blog about the shoes!!!!! I can’t tell you how hard I laughed. Ken kept saying what is wrong with you???? i am glad you had a nice time, it sounds great that is a good restaurant. Harley and I just got back from a trip to England, Scotland and Wales. Good time lots of stories. See you soon. Carol

  7. peggy August 3, 2014 at 8:10 am #

    Oh Roz, I just read this and had a good belly laugh at your little foible! It bought back a memory of the time I thought I was dressed fit to kill for a Beckett Ridge event, went to the ladies room, used my fancy new shoe to depress the toilet flush, lost my balance, and ended up with my “Cinderella slipper” in the potty!! You can dress us up, but don’t expect us to be anything but what we are…fun loving girls enjoying a night on the town!!!♥peggy

Leave a comment