Praying

14 Sep

Tomorrow looms large in our family. The Writer will have her PET scan, after 6 months of glorious NED (No Evidence of Disease) status. We talked briefly last week as we were driving someplace –
“Well, Mum”, she said, “the plan doesn’t change. We do today well, we plan for the worst, and live for today” Her courage, calmness and planning are palpable. We have had an awesome six months of zestfully living each day.

At another difficult time in our lives. she stitched a sampler for me, knowing it was one of my favorite prayers. It hangs in my office – and oh! how I have clung to words.

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can
And the wisdom to know the difference”

From the earliest days of our diagnosis of breast cancer, I chose the theme

John 14:27

27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Whatever tomorrow brings, we are not alone, and we can do this – together!

5 Responses to “Praying”

  1. Kim Rourke September 14, 2014 at 8:43 pm #

    Such a simple passage that asks so much of us. You live it well, my friend, and your are strength to Jen as she is to you. Have been sending up prayers and doing a mental happy dance. Also shared with Chelsea and Elizabeth so they are on board too. Hopefully, I did today well in honor!!

  2. Bonnie J September 14, 2014 at 9:49 pm #

    Standing with you Roz and Norv, always walking with you, Praying with you and believing with you!! The Lord has All of you in the palm of His Hand. Love you, Bonnie

  3. Marsha Vonderwish September 15, 2014 at 10:13 am #

    Keeping you and Jen in my prayers. So thankful you know the hope that only comes from above. He has each of our days perfectly numbered. May you feel His peace!

  4. Genora September 15, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    He is The Prince Of Peace…If we just keep our minds stayed on him.

  5. Rita O'Brien September 15, 2014 at 12:02 pm #

    Praying along with you,Jen and your family Roz.

Leave a comment